橙色公共电话亭

向公众永久开放的一种新型城市装置

橙色公共电话亭

18

12月

2018

上海

橙色公共电话亭
愚园路 | 上海 | 中国
 
公用电话亭是由MINI中国通过其Urban Matters平台所启动的一个公共空间的创意翻新项目,这为中国致力于创新的人们所面临的城市难,展现和打造了设计方案和方向。
 
 

©100architects


 
MINI中国携手长宁区政府和Anomaly & Assbook,委托我们负责愚园路(上海的一条历史悠久的街道)旧电话亭改造的设计和制作。
 
 

©100architects


 
橙色公共电话亭 官方视频
优酷视频 | 100
 


 
主要目的在于探索将此类的旧物改造成相关公共设施的可能性,使其符合当下这个时代的需求,就如它们为从前那个时代所提供的用途一样。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
世界上每个大城市的主要街道上都有公共电话亭网的覆盖,这对城市的运营非常重要。然而,纵观整个世界,有着几十年历史的电话亭慢慢趋于废弃的状态。在许多地方,它们甚至变成了城市垃圾箱,甚至是公共厕所。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
在智能手机的时代,老旧的公共电话亭如何赋予其现代公共用途?
除了打电话,在当下这个时代的公共空间领域中,它们还有别的什么相关功能?
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
这些想法激励了世界各地许多有创意的人们开始寻找解决方案,以将那些城市旧物转变成一些更有用的设施,更能为当下的社会及其生活方式所服务的设施。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
在我们这个当代城市中,存在潜在用户的新需求和新情况,因此我们受聘来重新思考那些城市设施所能扮演的新角色。在分析了电话亭之后,答案就浮出水面了。我们要将它们变成城市的迷你胶囊,方便人们之间的互动。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
看,从前,它们不仅仅提供了一个可以打电话的电话机,它们还为使用它的人提供庇护处,是一方屋顶,一个密闭空间,一种隐私感。营造空间的这种内在能力就是我们最感兴趣的,也是我们最想要复制的东西,以一种当代的方式。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
我们所处的如今这个时代仅仅只剩下不同,强调个性,这使得我们所有人似乎都越过了互动。因此,我们决定将我们相处的空间方式进行现代化。摈弃密闭和隔离的特点,我们将电话亭开放给行人,将它们变成公共家具,设立了与公共领域的其他人之间的对话,营造了一种具有争议性、形成鲜明对比的风貌。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
我们的设计创造了3种不同的造型,以不同的方式为人们之间的互动提供便利。为此,我们基本上保留了老式的金属架构,以保留其与历史的基本相似性,只简单地重新上漆,饰以哑光黑的色调,给人一种特快车的感觉。
 
通过移除了对着人行道的前面部分,最后呈现出来的样子是一个空间有限的空箱子,根据其框架,加入一种即时功能。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
通过移除了对着人行道的前面部分,最后呈现出来的样子是一个空间有限的空箱子,根据其框架,加入一种即时功能。v
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
电话亭的其他3个面也都进行了改造,在其所有的玻璃后面引入了LED散射灯箱,目的是使整个电话亭在夜晚发光,成为愚园路上人体大小的城市地标。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
免费WIFI连接、免费的USB充电插座、座椅设施、报纸架、咖啡桌、夜晚的阅读照明以及紧急电话机,所有这些都是改造后的电话亭的新特点。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
终于,鲜明的装饰为电话亭提供了一种很酷的时代特色,为那些”古迹“唤回了新的功用和可能性。
 
5个电话亭单元分散在这条人行道上,长达900米,它们将作为一种新型的功能性、开放性城市设施对公众永久开放,让行人可以更好地享用中国上海愚园路这条历史悠久的街道。
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
 
项目信息:
 
项目名称: 橙色公共电话亭
设计方: 佰筑建筑设计咨询(上海)有限公司
设计团队: Marcial Jesus & Javier Gonzalez (100architects)
制作: 宏仰广告+佰筑建筑设计咨询(上海)有限公司
客户: MINI China / Anomaly Shanghai
项目地点: 中国上海长宁区愚园路
面积: 950米长的街道分布的5个电话亭
完成: 2018年12月

About

橙色公共电话亭

我们的设计创造了3种不同的造型,以不同的方式为人们之间的互动提供便利。免费WIFI连接、免费的USB充电插座、座椅设施、报纸架、咖啡桌、夜晚的阅读照明以及紧急电话机,所有这些都是改造后的电话亭的新特点。

要了解更多,请点击上面!

More images

What do you think?

(Required)

街区介入

什么是街区介入?
街道介入是发生在城市公共空间里最小规模的介入类型,泛指改变一小段道路,或者全部的街道或广场。所以,不论是车行道还是人行道,都可以通过在其现有的街道布局上增添或安装新的不同的元素而实现。
 
这种类型将特定区域的地面设计成为一个无障碍和多功能的平台,催化社交互动,从而介入现有的城市环境。这是一种非地域性的策略介入,与现有环境保持着明显的形式和美学区别。
 
这种介入的主要目的是通过强烈的(通常是临时性的)视觉冲击来激发公众对该场所的巨大兴趣,鼓励公众在特定时期内提高场地的丰富度。使该场所成为吸引顾客并培养重要的人文动力,和体现商业价值的显著虚拟地标活动。


佰筑 INS

最新风采
The most magical place in the world.

The most magical place in the world.

This is an awesome place to hangout with friends and family. They have plenty of activities and sights to see to keep you busy all day. I recommend this place if you enjoy having fun.

Photo by Vicky Ardh

Taken at CREEK PLAY

Nicely designed. And great for IG posts. 😅

Nicely designed. And great for IG posts. 😅

Very nice place to see! Totally worth a visit!!! I didn't expected such a place here. Just grab yourself a coffee and relax and watch the colorful hustle and bustle there.

Photo by Estelle Ling

Taken at URBAN RIPPLE

What a great playground!

What a great playground!

This park is the greatest with a wide variety of play equipment you won't find at other parks. It is awesome. My daughter loved it.

Photo by Paul Lim

Taken at OCTOPUS KINGDOM

出版

最新
Orange Phone Booth in 商店建筑 N03 from Japan

Orange Phone Booth in 商店建筑 N03 from Japan

The Phone Booths is a public space intervention powered by MINI China through its platform Urban Matters, which curates and creates design solutions that tackle urban challenges confronting China’s creative class.

Orange Phone Booth in 商店建筑 N03 from Japan

Big Bang in LAK N395 from Korea

Big Bang in LAK N395 from Korea

Big Bang is a creative public rooftop activation designed for a new mixed-use building located in the New Bund, the emerging international business center in Pudong (Shanghai), with the aim of fostering entertainment & social interactions among new visitors, appealing to kids, youngsters & adults alike.

Big Bang in LAK N395 from Korea

High Loop in La Vie N196 from Taiwan

High Loop in La Vie N196 from Taiwan

苏州河因有着诸多桥梁,甚至被称为桥梁博物馆,除了既定印象中的古调与灰色系墙面,由事务所100 Architects所发表、连接上海市老闸北和静安的凌波桥改造案High Loop, 更一举打破桥只是跨越的既定印象。

High Loop in La Vie N196 from Taiwan

ORANGE PHONE BOOTH

A new typology of urban artifacts permanently open to the public.

ORANGE PHONE BOOTH

18

Dec

2018

Shanghai

Asia/Shanghai

Chinese

Population: 27 Million30 million in 2025

GDP: 251 6.6 %

BigMac: 2.74 us dollars

ORANGE PHONE BOOTHS
YuYuan Lu | Shanghai | China
 
The Phone Booths is a public space intervention powered by MINI China through its platform Urban Matters, which curates and creates design solutions that tackle urban challenges confronting China’s creative class.
 
 

©100architects


 
MINI China, in collaboration with Changning District Government, Anomaly & Assbook, commissioned us the design and production for revamping old phone booths in Yuyuan Road, a very historic road of Shanghai.
 
 

©100architects


 
Youtube Video | 100 Chanel
Orange phonebooths Video




 
The main objective was to explore the possibilities of revamping such old relics to become of relevant public use in this contemporary time, as they already were in a past time.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
Every major city in the world has a network of public phone booths on most streets, which was crucial to the running of the city, however a couple of decades phonebooths throughout the world became obsolete. In a lot of places, they had even become urban trash bins or even worst, public toilets.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
How could old public phone booths serve to other public purposes in this era of smartphones?.
What other functions, rather than making a call, are relevant in the current contemporary public realm?
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
These thoughts have motivated many creative people around the world to look for solutions to turn those urban relics into something more useful to the current society and its lifestyle.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
We were hired to rethink the role of those urban objects in our contemporary city with the current needs and conditions of the real potential users of today. after analyzing the booths, the answer was clear. We had to turn them into urban mini capsules that facilitate interaction among people.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
See, in the past, they did not only offer a phone to make calls, they also provided shelter for the person using it, a roof, an enclosed space, a sense of privacy. That intrinsic ability to generate a space is what we were mostly interested in and wanted to replicate in a contemporary way.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
With the only difference of the current times in which we live in we seem to be all over-inter-connected, therefore we decided to modernize the way the space is set. Instead of enclosed and isolated, we opened the booths to the pedestrian sidewalks, turning them into public furniture, stablishing a dialog with the rest of the public realm, and creating a controversial & contrasting look.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
Our design created 3 different prototypes that facilitate interactions in different ways. To achieve that, we mainly kept the basic old metal structures, in order to keep a major resemblance to its past, only just repainted in matt black to have a more bad ass look.
 
By removing just the front part facing the sidewalk we would end up with a limited empty box to insert an instant function within its frame.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
The “instant functions” were done in a striking matt orange color, looking for a strong contrast of colors between the preexisting structure and the new function.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
The other 3 sides of the booth were also modified, introducing LED diffusive light boxes behind all their glasses, in order to make the entire booth glow at night, becoming a human scale urban landmark on Yuyuan Road.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
Free wifi connection, free USB charging sockets, sitting arrangement, newspaper rack, coffee table, reading lights at night and a emergency public phone are among the new features of this revamp phone booths.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
Finally, the extreme makeover provided the phonebooths with a very cool and contemporary looking bringing back those old relics with new functions and possibilities.
 
The 5 phonebooths units are distributed in the sidewalk along 900meters and will be permanently open to the public as a new typology of functional open urban objects to be enjoyed by the pedestrian in the historical road Yuyuan lu, Shanghai, China.
 
 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 

© Amey Kandalgaonkar


 
 
CREDITS:
 
Project Name: Orange Phone booths
Design: 100architects (Shanghai)
Design Team: Marcial Jesus & Javier Gonzalez (100architects)
Production: Hong Yang Advertising (Shanghai) + 100architects (Shanghai)
Client: MINI China / Anomaly Shanghai
Location: Yuyuan Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China
Area: 5 units in a 950 meters long street
Completion: December2018
 

About

Orange Phonebooths

Our design created 3 different prototypes that facilitate interactions in different ways. Also, each unit provides phone charging, wifi signal, lighting and newspaper tray  among others

To know more click above!

More images

One thought on “ORANGE PHONE BOOTH

  1. Marek says:

    Hi,
    in the next issue of Newsweek Slow, we’re writing a short text about Your Orange Phonebooths. Is it possible to get from You a few pictures for publication?

What do you think?

(Required)

Street Intervention

What is an street intervention?
This is the smallest scale of interventions that takes place in the public realm of a city, related to the altering of a portion or a whole street or square, whether vehicular or pedestrian, by adding or installing new alienated elements to the existing configuration of the street.
 
This typology intervenes existing urban settings by occupying the ground of a given area and by acting as an accessible and multifunctional platform, catalyzing social interactions. It is a tactical intervention with a non-territorial nature, keeping a clear formal and aesthetic distinction from the existing surroundings.
 
The main objective of this typology is to trigger a massive public interest to the place through a strong visual impact, usually of a temporary nature, encouraging the rise of high public affluence during a specific period of time, becoming a remarkable virtual landmark that attracts customers and cultivates important human dynamics and commercial activity.


insta100

Related Moments
Niceeeee

Niceeeee

Nice spot to have a rest !

Photo by Joao

Taken at ORANGE PHONE BOOTH

Yuyuan lu getting an orange makeover :P

Yuyuan lu getting an orange makeover :P

Perfect coffee brake with the dog and my boyfriend :)

Photo by Liya P.

Taken at ORANGE PHONE BOOTH

Phone call

Phone call

The kids were also playing inside

Photo by Ema

Taken at ORANGE PHONE BOOTH

Publications

Related
Orange Phone Booth in 商店建筑 N03 from Japan

Orange Phone Booth in 商店建筑 N03 from Japan

The Phone Booths is a public space intervention powered by MINI China through its platform Urban Matters, which curates and creates design solutions that tackle urban challenges confronting China’s creative class.

Orange Phone Booth in 商店建筑 N03 from Japan

Phone Booth in Inhabitat

Phone Booth in Inhabitat

“When was the last time you stepped into a phone booth? If you’re under 30, you might not even be aware that phone booths used to be on nearly every street corner as a means to contact your parents after the football game or call a taxi after dinner. Of course, there are those scenes from the original Superman that might jog your memory. Once cell phones became mainstream, the empty phone booths became easy fodder for graffiti, pollution and public urinal use. But while the era of the phone booth is long gone, in Shanghai, these relics are being upcycled into useful curbside furniture.”…

Phone Booth in Inhabitat

Moments & Experiences

Insta 100